Foodie Friday 10.30.15: Top Three Clean Eating Meals From My Week’s Meal Plan

  

While this is a new blog, Kimberly Lam Wellness is not new at all! I’ve been posting over on Facebook for sometime now at facebook.com/kimberlylamwellness. And one of my weekly posts is Foodie Friday. It is my way of sharing a little piece of clean eating and the convenience of a meal plan from my home to yours! On occasion (especially busy weeks like this one) it ends up popping up on a Saturday, but such is the life and times of a busy mama. So, without further adieu, I share with you…Foodie Friday for Oct. 30th, 2015. 

Another week has come and gone. Hopefully you had a fantastic week and did something to help your body be well! Here is this week’s clean eating meal plan round up!

All meals (except the falafel salad)  served with a simple green salad with carrots, celery, dressed with EVOO and Balsmic Vinegar.
✨Monday’s Chicken Lettuce Wraps w/ Brown Rice and Steamed Broccoli✨

We used almond butter instead of peanut butter and cut the chili sauce down temendously. That is pretty much all we changed. Yum.

http://iowagirleats.com/2011/04/26/p-f-changs-lettuce-wraps-remade/

  

✨Wednesday’s Quinoa Crusted Chicken Strips w/ Baked Yam and Sautéed Brussels Sprouts✨

I highly recommend preparing the quinoa crust part a day or so earlier than you are going to use it. Otherwise, it can take up a good chunk of your afternoon. 

For the Yams: wash, poke holes in them, pop them in the oven at 375 (mine were still in there cooking when I bumped the temp up for the chicken) for 45-60 minutes, depending on size. Cook until soft.

For the Brussels: wash, cut in half and trim stems, sautée on med-high heat in avocado oil (or butter…yum…preferably from milk of grass fed cows…Kerrygold is awesome and we get it for cheap at Costco) with garlic powder, onion powder, sea salt, & black pepper. Cook until tender, but not mush. 

http://www.halfbakedharvest.com/quinoa-crusted-chicken-strips-bbq-honey-mustard/

  

✨Thursday’s Falafel Salad w/ Tzatziki Sauce✨

I used almond flour in place of whole wheat flour and couldn’t find the cilantro in my crisper (until right after I had formed and placed all the patties on the baking sheet. Bah.) so I used a tiny bit left from our garden and some dried corriander instead. I brushed the parchment with avocado oil before placing the falafels on it and brushed the tops of them with it as well and flipped them halfway through the cooking process to ensure even cooking. 

We decided to crumble them over greens with tomatoes, carrots, celery, and cucumber and top them with homemade tzatziki. 
For the tzatziki: I didn’t leave any piece of it to sit overnight. Didn’t remember the night before, but…still delicious! I did peep the cucumber and then squeezed it out with a towel after shredding it to remove the excessive liquid. I used whole-fat, plain yogurt instead of Greek, as that is what I had on hand. I halved the garlic and used a microplane to make sure it mixed well and wasn’t too spicy for babes. And I added a touch of fresh squeezed lemon juice.
http://www.myfoodandhappiness.com/crispy-oven-baked-falafels/

Authentic Greek Tzatziki Sauce

  

Let me know what you think and share a picture and how you liked them, if you give them a try!! 

Comment, like or share this post with someone who may wanna have a few new ideas for meals thrown their way each week! Thanks for checking in!

Leave a comment